Skip to content

So it’s been a while.

February 15, 2012

I did a lot of knitting around the holidays – a hat for myself and a cowl for my sister for Christmas. And then my mom and my brother’s girlfriend both wanted a cowl too, and I promised Grandma I would make her felted slippers, so I haven’t completed any new sewing projects in a while. But those projects are all done now so I can get some sewing in and knit for myself without a time limit.

I am taking a sewing class through the local school board though – we  meet in a  fashion classroom at a high school and everyone kind of works on separate projects and get help from the teacher as needed, and the teacher will gather us all together to watch something if someone needs help with something we can all learn. I missed the first class due to a terrible horrible sinus infection, but in both that one and the second class we focused on fit. Everyone took comprehensive measurements and then we measured our patterns to see how they matched up and made alterations to make things fit better.

I am working on a Truffle dress for the class. So far it’s coming together very well, though I think it might be a little short for my preferences and a little big in the chest, despite the careful measurements I took. I’m going to get some help with that this week.

This month I also need to make a set of napkins for my brother, who likes the set I made for my mom and asked for some for his birthday next month.

As for upcoming projects, I have material to make a grey Cascade skirt, and a black top based on the one in the Burda Style book. I want to take one of the skirts to class, to learn how to put in a normal zipper well, and the blouse, to learn how to fit sleeves well.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

